Winton Touring Car Advertisment
Shell Championship Series
1999 Details
Date: Saturday 21st August Date: Sunday 22nd August Admission:$15.00 Admission:$30.00 Paddock:$10.00 Paddock:$15.00 Children under 15 free admission V8 Supercars Gates open at 7.00 AM Shell Superbikes Camping Available Formula Ford Formula Holden
shell logo 1997 Reveiw shell logo
V8 Supercars Formula Holden Shell Superbikes Sports Sedans 1998 Review

Shell Australian Touring Car Championship In 1997 Winton hosted Round Five of the Shell Australian Touring Car Championship which saw Glenn Seton in the Ford Credit Falcon, leading the Championship on 294 points ahead of Russell Ingall in the Castrol Commodore 256 points and John Bowe in the Shell Falcon on 240 points.
Glenn Seton heading into turn 2 Glenn Seton in his Ford Credit Falcon Qualifying was a wet affair and the Castrol pairing of Larry Perkins and Russell Ingall took advantage of the specialy cut Dunlop rain tyres and put themselves on the front row of the grid. Steven Richards surprised all putting his Valoline Commodore on 4th place on the grid. Perkins spinning in the wet Perkins had a spin in the wet but still managed Poll Race One saw the the Castrol pairing take the first corner with Perkins ahead and were not seen again by the rest ofthe field. Valvoline Commodore driver Steven Richards had a mishap on the start which resulted in Richards losing his front spoiler. John Faulkner and Dick Johnson also had a first lap incident with Faulkner spinning off the track into retirement. Peter Brock worked his way up to third position with Glenn Seton in fourth. Perkins first off the start Perkins and Ingall won the start and were never headed Race two saw the Castrol Team win the start again and Ingall this time got the jump on team mate Perkins. The Castrol Cars remained in that order to the finish dominating the Winton track. Brock and Seton followed the two Castrol cars home in third and fourth. Gardner and Bowe scrapped hard all the race but Bowe managed to hold off the Coke Commodore of Gardner to finish fifth with Gardner sixth. perkins and Ingall Perkins and Ingall dominated Race Two Race Three was yet again another with Castrol one & two. Ingall taking the Victory Honors over Perkins with this time Glenn Seton beating Peter Brock off the line to finish third. Brock slid off the track and finished in nineth. Bowe and Gardner yet again battled hard with Bowe taking fourth and Gardner fifth. perkins geting the flag Ingall and Perkins take their third one, two Results 1st Russell Ingall Castrol Commodore 2nd Larry Perkins Castrol Commodore 3rd Glenn Seton Ford Credit Falcon
shell logo index shell logo

Formula Holden Winton marked Round Four of the Australian Drivers' Championship which had been dominated by Jason Bright who had not been beaten so far this year. Second in the Championship was Holden Young Lions member Jason Bargwana on 57 points 43 points behind bright. Formula Holden first turn incident Irwin getting into trouble at the first turn Race One was stopped after a first corner incident sent Dean Irwin into the air and finishing up in the gravel trap. Darren Pate took the early lead but Bargwana passed him and held the lead to the flag to take his first win in Formula Holden and break Jason Brights winning streak. Pate leading the way Darren Pate lead the way into Turn 2 with Bargwana second Results 1st Jason Bargwana Reynard 92D 2nd Darren Pate Reynard 95D 3rd Jason Bright Reynard 91D
shell logo index shell logo

Sports Sedan This year's Sports Sedan race made up a round of the Australian Championship and saw competitors come from all over Australia to compete. Mick Monterosso was the early race leader in his Ford Escort but was quickly passed by Kerry Bailey in his Toyota Supra. Bob Jolly in his Commodore took over the lead from Bailey on lap 5 but had to retire after a spin on lap seven with the win going to Wayne Park in his Mazda RX7. Jolly leading Park Jolloy leads eventual race winner Wayne Park Results 1st Wayne Park Mazda RX7 2nd Kerry Bailey Toyota Supra 3rd Tony Hubbard Holden Commodore
shell logo index shell logo

Shell Superbikes The Shell Oils Superbike Championship saw the debut of the all Australian built Hunwick Hallam ridden by Mal Campbell. Unfortunately problems saw the Hunwick not make it to the grid. Marty Craggill on his Kawasaki was first off the line and was closely followed by Mark Willis and Damon Buckmaster. Just behind the three leaders another dice had formed between Suzuki's Troy Bayliss and Craig Connell on his Ducati with the first Honda next with Shawn Giles on board. Craggill managed to hold of Willis and Buckmaster in a three way photo finish. Marty Craggill Craggill leads Willis and team mate Buckmaster Results 1st Marty Craggill Kawasaki ZXR 2nd Mark Willis Suzuki GSX-R 3rd Damon Buckmaster Kawasaki ZXR
shell logo index shell logo

1998 Review 1998 Saw Craig Lowndes just ahead of Russell Ingall in the championship battle as the set apon Winton for round five of the championship. Qualifying Holden Racing Teams Mark Skaife put his car on pole with 1:23.08 3 tenth's of a second ahead of Shell Helix's John Bowe in his falcon with the two Castrol Commodores of Russell Ingall and Lary Perkins sharing the Second row. In all 41 cars attempted to qualify for the 38 positions on the grid. Race One Saw Mark Skaife Spear off at the first corner and John Bowe take the lead. He held of a determined Russell Ingall in his Castrol Commodore untill Ingall pounced on lap eight. Lap eight also saw Craig Lowndes muscle his way pass a dogged Lary Perkins who had forced his way passed Lowndes earlier in the race. 1st Russell Ingall Commodore 2nd John Bowe Falcon 3rd Larry Perkins Commodore Dick Johnson Dick Johnson leads Jason Bright Race Two Race Two saw Russel Ingall get the better of the start with John Bowe slipping back into second. Larry Perkins got the better of the start with Craig Lowndes but by lap two moved his HRT Commodore past Perkins and into third place. Bowe came on strong in the last half of the race passing Ingall on lap 12 and held it to the finish. 1st John Bowe Falcon 2nd Russell Ingall Commodore 3rd Craig Lowndes Commodore Wynns Commodores The Wynns team had one of the best results Race Three The start of race three saw Ingall, Skaife, Lowndes and Perkins all collide with Lowndes and Perkins suffering damage to their cars. Bowe stayed out of trouble and lead to the flag. Ingall back in fifth after lap one followed by Falcon driver Tony Longhurst in Sixth made a charge through the field with Longhurst geting as high as second before he sliped back to fourth position. 1st John Bowe Falcon 2nd Mark Skaife Commodore 3rd Russell Ingall Commodore Craig Lowndes Craig Lowndes had a collision at turn one
shell logo index shell logo